There are loads of situations where you wanted to hide the information about the web pages you browse, the passwords or the form fields you entered, and admit it, you could be commonly wanting that when you are opening websites which your parents might not like you doing so. Browsing the web privately was something hard because the web browsers didn't really have any good way to selectively flush the data and it kept saving all the data. The option then was to delete the entire history, which again could give signs that you browsed something which you weren't supposed to. But now, most of the browsers have a direct option of browsing privately. Such thing in Firefox browser is called Private Browsing, and there's no special name (like Incognito mode in Chrome browser). According to Mozilla, here's what private browsing on Firefox is:
In a Private Browsing window, Firefox won't keep any browser history, search history, download history, web form history, cookies, or temporary internet files. However, files you download and bookmarks you make will be kept.You got that already. What you still need to keep in mind is that the private browsing would be only for your computer and the tracking won't be done in the browser, but that won't prevent your ISP or your Employer from tracking the pages you browse. For most of us, private browsing would be mainly for the URLs that we enter in the Address bar, but the private browsing feature in Firefox does a lot more than that.
What is not saved during Private BrowsingThere is a lot that the private browsing mode doesn't save while you are freely browsing, logging into websites and downloading content from the web.
- Web pages visited: No page that you visited would be kept in the history, and the address bar URL list would also be kept unsaved
- Passwords: No passwords would be saved
- Download list: Although you download anything from the web, nothing would show up in the downloads list
- Forms and search bar entries: The forms that you fill, and the searches you make are not saved
- Cookies: These are unique packets that store the information such as the site preferences, login data and other stuff you do on the websites. These are not saved in the private browsing
- Cached web content: The web content that you browse becomes cached for you to browse it faster and easier later on. Apart form this, the user data too gets cached, but there's nothing of this stored when you are browsing privately
- If any file is opened in an external app, e.g. a document opened directly without saving, it would stay in the temp folder until the browser is open, but later would be removed from the temp folder too
What is saved during Private Browsing
- If you are bookmarking any websites during Private browsing, all of those bookmarks would stay there and won't be removed when you switch from private to normal browsing
- Files that are saved or downloaded would be still there in the folder where you downloaded them, but only the name won't be shown in the download manager of the browser